Skip to main content

University of Leeds Teaching Awards 2021 winners

Celebrating Excellence

Winners have been announced for the inaugural University of Leeds Teaching Awards.

The awards celebrate excellent practice in student education, as well as the work and innovation of colleagues to deliver high-quality teaching and learning at Leeds.

Applications were received from across the University before being reviewed by a faculty and University panel to determine the winners for each award.

Judges were overwhelmed by the fantastic flare and creativity showcased by applicants across each of the categories, and by the significant impact they demonstrated in enhancing student education. This was considered all the more impressive given the challenging circumstances staff and students have faced during the covid-19 pandemic.

Professor Paul Taylor, Dean: Student Education (Experience), said:

"It was a real pleasure to chair the University of Leeds Teaching Awards panel. All the nominees were already winners in their Faculties, so the range of excellent practices demonstrated was truly impressive and testimony to the great student experience they provided and sustained during a particularly challenging year. Congratulations to everyone - especially our University of Leeds Teaching Awards winners".

Each of our winners receives a cash award to support professional development or scholarship, a certificate of recognition and an invitation to a celebratory event.

A full list of winners appears below, with in-depth profiles – taking a more detailed look at their practice and contribution to student education – being featured on the OD&PL Student Education website in the coming months.


Sustained Excellence 

Julie Peacock (School of Geography, Faculty of Environment)
Alice Shepherd (Accounting and Finance Division, Leeds University Business School)
Dan Trowsdale (School of Mechanical Engineering, Faculty of Engineering and Physical Sciences)

Early Career Excellence

Salma Al Arefi (School of Electronic and Electrical Engineering, Faculty of Engineering and Physical Sciences)
Richard Harris (School of Psychology, Faculty of Medicine and Health)
Rachael O’Connor (School of Law, Faculty of Social Sciences)

Collaborative Excellence

Capstone Projects in Biomedical Sciences (Faculty of Biological Sciences)
Collaboration and innovation to make a step change in provision (Cross University, Careers Service)
Teaching and Learning Enhancement NeTwork (TALENT) (Faculty of Engineering and Physical Sciences)

More information about the University of Leeds Teaching Awards is available on the OD&PL Student Education website.